Positano

Positano. View from the sea

It was some version of this image that made me choose my trip to the Amalfi Coast. It’s the town of Positano, sitting on a cliff-side. I saw it while browsing holiday sites and decided that this was where I wanted to go. I’ve done this before, i.e. choosing a holiday from a magazine picture, which is how I went on the Trans-Siberian Railway and to Cappadocia in Turkey.

Positano is very picturesque. On the holiday, I had the luxury of approaching it from the sea – by ferry – and from the mountain tops at the end of the Path of the Gods trek. Hence, I have my own multiple versions of this picture, from a great many angles. And besides, descending into Positano after the walk, was thoroughly refreshing, especially as the old knees had had a good workout. A cold beer on the seafront was my first destination.

~ Spotted Cow

Positano. View from the mountain

Painter on the beach

 

16 thoughts on “Positano

  1. Looks heavenly. I just revisited Italy in a recent blog post as well – it really is a dreamy coastline the whole way up and down! Now I might have to go back …

    1. It starts just outside Agerola. It is really worth doing. The views are really amazing. The walk is well documented so you can find information easily on the Internet.

  2. I saw Positano in a film for the first time and knew it was going to be one of the destinations of my honeymoon. I ended up prefering Ravello over Positano, but it certainly is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

