Strawberry Fields

Strawberry Fields

You can’t go to Liverpool without visiting the Beatles sites, and that was definitely on the weekend’s agenda.

The most striking thing on my Beatles route was the crimson Strawberry Field gates. Strawberry Field – without the s – was a Salvation Army orphanage that has since closed down. John Lennon lived and grew up nearby, playing in the grounds and in the woods around, which he dubbed Strawberry Fields, with the s. The myth goes that some of John Lennon’s ashes are scattered here and the Salvation Army will never sell the land. It is indeed Strawberry Fields Forever.

~ Spotted Cow

7 thoughts on “Strawberry Fields

  1. I fear I’m biased and it shows straight away from my blog name. I’m glad you had a good time here in Liverpool – it is indeed a very pretty city. The variety of architecture still astounds me. I’ve been back living in my home town for nearly 4 years after 20+ years away and I still feel like I view the city as a tourist. It’s a wondrous place. I see you’ve also found our Iron Men. Well, they’re Crosby’s but we claim them too. Another Place is a Favourite Place of mine – such majesty and calm on the sometimes wild and windy beach. Come back soon!!

    1. I loved my weekend in Liverpool. In fact, two days was not enough and I definitely want to come back. If nothing else, I have to go back to Crosby and see the sculptures in a different season and a different light.

      1. I’m doing a photoshoot on the beach on Thursday – can’t wait – such an inspiring back drop to work with!

Leave a Reply

