Snap chat. Learning from old snaps.

Shop Girl

It’s instructive to look back at your old snaps and learn from them. I reviewed at a set of people images I took from my first Turkey photography trip.

They’re serviceable, but they would’ve been much better pictures if I hadn’t I zoomed in, lopping off the top of heads. I seem to have had a tendency to get in for the portrait without noticing much else around. Apart from the man reading the book and the shop girl at the doorway, the images don’t have much in the way of context. Even in those two, I could’ve stood back a bit further. I haven’t given you much in the way of a story … although the Lollipop Boy’s story is pretty self-evident ! He would’ve benefited from more of the wonderful wall texture in the background. I needed to give him more space.

So, my lesson here is to remember to stand back and look at what else is around. Have you learnt any lessons from your own pictures?

~ Spotted Cow

Lollipop boy

Reader

Bearded man

17 thoughts on “Snap chat. Learning from old snaps.

  1. Oh, so many photos to learn from 😀 My biggest issue was (and often times still is) not taking the time to try a different angle or perspective. I often take the same or extremely similar shot way too many times (and I don’t know why I do that!). I think I get excited over something and don’t want to lose the moment, so I just shoot. That is mostly an issue with people (with no people, I am free to take my time).

    That being said, I think all your photos capture the spirit of the subject, and I quite like the framing in the last. I’ve actually seen a schematic that shows what is acceptable framing for the human body: cutting off the top of the head (as you did here) is fine; cutting off the ears is not 😀

    1. I love the last sentence. Cutting off ears is not ok. Ha. But it’s true. I’ve also been told that cutting off limbs midway is also not good, and certainly cutting of extremities are a No-No. It’s all too easy to do when you’re in a hurry or feeling the pressure because there is a person in front of you, maybe getting impatient.

      1. Yup, I remember about the limbs – something about the mid upper arm is okay, but anything else is an “oops, better not do that.” Now all we have to do is remember in the moment!

  2. Yes I have gone through a lot of photos, mostly travel ones, and wish I can go back and do them all again but a bit differently. Hindsight is a wonderful thing. Like you I learn more and more each and every photo and also from looking at other blogs. Thanks for reinforcing that thought…I try to remember to take a photo a little further away and crop in, in post processing if need be.. thats a lot easier than going back 🙂

  3. One of the benefits of using a prime instead of a zoom lens, is that I rarely get too close and lop things off. 🙂

    I’ve learned the importance of cleaning my gear after each use, not before use when I might forget. I need to slow down on the trigger too and think more.

    1. I think people have better discipline with a prime lens. You can’t be lazy and zoom from wherever you’re standing. Thinking more – that is definitely a good habit to practice, given the number of times I’ve wished I could go back and take the picture again.

  4. Still great captures but I certainly know what you’re saying. I concentrate so much on the actual subject I completely forget the where and why, zooming in, immediately cropping out the context as you say! 🙂

    1. Thanks, although that’s the thing that really annoys me. I like the subjects, but now that I look at the pictures critically, I’m frustrated that I can’t go back and take the photograph again.

Leave a Reply

