1. Misty day at the seaside

Making stones skip on the water

Juliann from Browsing The Atlas nominated me to do the Five Photos, Five Stories challenge. The rules of Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge require you to post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo (It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or simply a short paragraph) and then nominate another blogger to carry on this challenge. Accepting the challenge is entirely up to the person nominated, it is not a command. I nominate Wright Outta Nowhere because I love the tales that go with her expat-life images.

Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge

Picture 1/Story 1. 

I am consistently and wondrously surprised at the unflappability of English beachgoers. Not only do they have to contend with a pebbly beach. But one sunny Brighton day that turned misty, I noticed that everyone stayed on the beach while I started to make tracks to leave. There was no packing of the bags when the mist descended, not even when the temperature dropped. They stayed on with their picnics, carried on with their gossip and played at making pebbles skip in the sea. It’s hard core.

~ Spotted Cow

 

 

5 thoughts on “1. Misty day at the seaside

  1. I can almost hear the fog horns blowing 🙂 Actually, I think I would be one to stay too. My favorite time on the beach is at the end of the day when the crowds have gone and you feel as if the whole beach belongs to you. Being surrounded by mist is just like that. Mist and the sound of breaking sea on the shore – sublime. I know, I’m a weird one 😉

    Love this image!!

    1. Yes, I know what you mean about the beach at the end of the day when the intensity of the sun is dying down, and you’re enjoying the last rays. I may have to be convinced about hanging around in the mist though. Maybe if I had a thermos of heart-warming tea.

Leave a Reply

