Telling stories

Animated Lady 1

I told you that I went on a Journey Anatolia photography trip to Turkey, up into the remote North-East. The focus is mainly on people photography … and I have to say, the people in this area are remarkably friendly and hospitable. They would offer us cups of tea and tell us stories of their lives.

In one of the Çamlıhemşin villages, we met this lovely smiley lady who was very animated and she chatted away to us with wonderful energy. Our guide translated, although only inadequately, because she kept talking over him!

I too hope that when I’m at a grand old age and dependent on a crutch, that I will sit on my daybed outside my door and regale the occasional passing visitor with my tales. Ha !

~ Spotted Cow

Animated Lady 3Animated Lady & GuideAnimated Lady 4

8 thoughts on “Telling stories

  1. I just loved zooming in on these photos and seeing all the delightful details, especially the amazing twinkle in this wonderful woman’s eyes. What an amazing experience the day had to have been, and you certainly did her justice with your wonderful images. Bravo 🙂

    1. Thank you! And yes, it was a wonderful experience. She was easy to photograph because she had so animated. I wanted to click away continuously to try and capture her essence in each expression, and she didn’t mind at all. In fact, she warmed to it !

  2. Fantastic captures – you can feel the essence of her character from here – what a treasure! How lucky were you with such delightful “subject matter” – beats a super-model any day, but that’s just me 😉

Leave a Reply

