Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

It was my Indiana Jones moment, arriving at The Treasury at Petra. After a mile walk through a crack in the canyon, you turn the corner and catch your breath at first glimpse of the sandstone façade.

In Arabic, it is known as Al Kazneh – the treasury – and it is believed that bandits hid treasure inside. I was on sabbatical, a treasure in itself, after 10 years of sitting behind a desk. I had seen Al Khazneh on Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, and I thought “right … !” So I came to Petra.  And what I discovered was far more marvellous than I expected.

~ Spotted Cow

Al Khazneh

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Treasure

Leave a Reply

