Hawaiiana. Surf & Hula.

We’ve just come back from Hawaii and found it deliciously exotic.

Two images typify Hawaii of the travel ads – beautiful beaches and hula girls.  Both of these are iconic and we even found their images on boxes of mints.

The ocean is everywhere and the waves were always big. But what we wanted to see were the barrel waves like those in the Hawaii Five-0 intro. We saw them on Oahu’s north shore.  They weren’t the giant 50 footers, but they were impressively awesome enough not to want to get in the water with the surfers. I know it sounds crazy, but we’ve not seen waves like this where we live in Sydney.

On Christmas Eve we went to a luau. It was touristy but so much fun. The girls in their vegetal finery – including coconut cup bikinis – fluttering their hips like brandishing birds of paradise. Buff men in sarongs and leaf anklets. The fire dancers were astounding – no burn marks ! Do they start out practising with full fire suits? The luau finished the evening with the Hawaiian Twelve Days of Christmas.

Numbah 12 Day of Christmas my tutu gave to me : 12 televisions, 11 missionaries, 10 cans of beer, 9 pounds of poi, 8 ukuleles, 7 shrimps a swimming, 6 hula lessons, 5 big fat pigs, 4 flower leis, 3 dried squid, 2 coconuts and one mynah bird in one papaya tree. Were you humming along?

Aloha. We’ll be back with a fair few more Hawaiian postcards. If you don’t want to miss out, make sure you leave your your email address on the front page.

 ~ Spotted Cow

Hula mints

Hawaii wavesHawaii surf

Hula

11 thoughts on “Hawaiiana. Surf & Hula.

  1. Sounds like you had a great holiday with your family. I had a cozy holiday with my mum too. But the setting was far far colder! 😱 I love Hawaii. Even though I was there only once but their beach & trade wind combination was unforgettable… 🏄🌴🌊

  2. I so agree! We made Hawaii one of our round the world stops and were there last week. I had to do a bit of persuasive work on my other half as Hawaii wasn’t on his extensive bucket list- he loved it! Your shots are brilliant- the waves were not quite that big when we visited.

    1. ooh … I wonder if we did similar things. Are you going to write about it ? Having said that, when I read other people’s experiences, I want to go back because inevitably you can’t do everything. And then, there’s the supposed down time ! Ha !

      1. Soooo many thousands of photos to organise, purge, edit-they are my priority before I get back to guernsey. Downtime?! What would that be- we did three islands with 4 am starts to catch planes, but I think we would go back to Maui. I think you will be doing a write up before me😃

      2. I can relate re the zillions of photos. I’m still in the process of doing so. I think I’ll have to go back to go to Maui. We were on Oahu and Big Island. That’s hard core doing so many 4am starts !

  3. Yay! I can’t wait to read more. I’ve never been to Hawai’i. My husband and I plan to go for our 15th anniversary, but our daughter really, really, really wants to come with us. Hhhmmm. We’ll see.

    I’m always collecting ideas for the day when we finally go. A luau is a must. I’m sure I’ll add more ideas as I read about your travels there.

    1. You should definitely go. We talked about Hawaii as a trip idea for years but it kept falling off the list because of one thing or another. I’m glad we finally made it because we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It’s so different from mainland America. And if there’s anything you want to ask when the time comes for planning it, drop us an email and we’ll chat !

Leave a Reply

